Innocence.Limitless.

Waking up I see that everything is OK
The first time in my life and now it’s so great
Slowing down I look around and I am so amazed
I think about the little things that make life great

I wouldn’t change a thing about it
This is the best feeling

[Chorus]
This innocence is brilliant
I hope that it will stay
This moment is perfect
Please don’t go away
I need you now
And I’ll hold on to it
Don’t you let it pass you by

I found a place so safe, not a single tear
The first time in my life and now it’s so clear
Feel calm, I belong, I’m so happy here
It’s so strong and now I let myself be sincere

I wouldn’t change a thing about it
This is the best feeling

[Chorus]

It’s a state of bliss, you think you’re dreaming
It’s the happiness inside that you’re feeling
It’s so beautiful it makes you wanna cry
It’s a state of bliss, you think you’re dreaming
It’s the happiness inside that you’re feeling
It’s so beautiful it makes you wanna cry

It’s so beautiful it makes you wanna cry
This innocence is brilliant
Makes you wanna cry
This innocence is brilliance
Please don’t go away
Cause I need you now
And I’ll hold on to it
Don’t you let it pass you by

[Chorus]

Have you ever felt the feeling of that wave of emotions flowing thru your heart whenever you hear the melody of a certain song you’ve recently heard? That feeling of pain with a combination of happiness, a feeling you can’t explain whenever you hear that certain song, just inexplicable. As a music lover, not a music expert, I always dwell to a song whenever I hear one That Makes Me Wanna Cry, as the song above says. It’s like the your song of the day, or song of the moment or song of your life that you feel best explains what you felt at the very moment when you heard that certain song. That moment when you feel that you’re in a music video and you start singing along the lines of the song, even in the moment you just murmur the lyrics because you don’t know them yet. That best explains what happened when I first heard this song, Innocence.

I  was looking for sad songs one day, songs about broken heart, waiting for someone you love and about holding on. I checked albums of the likes of Kris Allen, David Archuleta, Kelly Clarkson, Simple Plan, Jesse McCartney and of course Avril Lavigne. I never liked Avril, actually, since she had that Boyish image when I was back in high school while she was singing Complicated and Sk8ter Boi. I was more into pop songs, because I never wanted to face the feeling that will make me more emotional, I always wanted to listen to songs which will make me feel happy so that sadness will not engulf me for the whole day, if you know what I mean. Then there came a time that these pop songs weren’t enough to make me feel better, that’s when I started to listen to country and rock songs, including the music of Avril. I started to like her with When You’re Gone, and it has the only music video that makes me cry everytime I watch it, so I realized there was at least a connection with me and Avril that makes me more interested to listening to her music, just the likes of Why, Keep Holding On, My Happy Ending, Nobody’s Home, Don’t Tell Me, Wish You Were Here and so on. So when I heard Innocence as I was scanning her album The Best Damn Thing, I felt that same wave of emotions again, but was greater. I even felt it more when she uttered “This is the best feeling. This Innocence is brilliant, I hope that it will stay..” I felt the song, I felt every emotion written all over that song, I felt that this is the song that I need to release all the pain that I feel.

“I think about the little things that make life great. I wouldn’t change a thing about it. This is the best feeling…”

As I was hearing this song, I felt like I’m deep inside a forest and I can imagine the beauty of nature all around me and how much I would love to be in that scene and that I would appreciate so much the beauty of earth as I see the colors Green, Blue and Red go in harmony in that state. It made me feel that everything I see around me is God’s gift to us to make us realize that we should not try to change what He made for us, and we should appreciate whatever He has given because we deserve it and we should preserve it. It is something that defines life and ruining His creation would mean that we don’t appreciate every little thing and detail He made for us. It’s the best feeling to have everything in place as God planned everything to be excellent in our presence because He knows we deserve the best.

“Feel calm, I belong, I’m so happy here. It’s so strong and now I let myself be sincere”

Another point is that this song made me realize that on the presence of what you have, everything you need is there. You are not placed to a situation if you don’t belong there, and that you should learn to adjust and adapt so that you will grow and be a better person. Appreciation of what you have is necessary to be contented. How can you have contentment if you are looking for something that you don’t have? Your mind will always have that hunger for something greater that you don’t have but what you have to do is look around so that you will realize you got everything you need. Value everything while you still have it because you don’t know until when it will be with you. We tend to look for someone to love, someone who would take care for us, someone who will give us inspiration, but we forget that we have our family, friends, BEST friends from high school and college that have been there for us but we neglected. And then at some point, for being so demanding, we feel lonely, left out and isolated, because in the first place, we did this to ourselves, we isolated ourselves from the truth that what we need has always been there for us.

“It’s so beautiful it makes you wanna cry”

Appreciation is not just something we say thank you for, It’s something you feel that has that tingling sensation in your heart on the moment you have it and has that painful pinch when you realize you don’t have it anymore. Regret is the fear of losing something and not having it back again, after doing all your best. It’s hard to see that you already have it on your hands but you let it drift away because of just one mistake. Appreciation applies to all, in everything you see and everything other people do for you. It’s very important to show appreciation and gratitude because it is an eternal way to say thank you. Words are not enough, as they say Actions speak louder than words. Voices are just sounds created by muscles from our throat and air that passes by it, but appreciation and gratitude will always be remembered forever as it brings joy and that wonderful flow of emotions to one’s heart.

“I need you now. And I’ll hold on to it. Don’t you let it pass you by”

When opportunity comes, grab it, as it will never come back for you and for another chance. I remember when I was young, I used to read this comicbook given to us at school and it had a picture of whom Opportunity is. He is actually an old man who has no hair at the back of his head, and has only long hair at his forehead. And it was instructed there that when you see  Opportunity, grab his hair, because when he passed you, he will never come back for you and you can never grab his hair anymore. Same as with real life, when it’s there, don’t you let it pass you by because you have only once chance to correct things, to have the best and to prove yourself. The world is very demanding and judgmental so if you let your chances go by, you will never know your purpose in life and your place in this world.

So by then, I can say, Innocence is something that we still should keep in ourselves. Innocence that will keep our hearts young and our minds matured to protect and appreciate everything we have. Nothing in this world is permanent. But as long as you have Innocence in your heart, a cheerful spirit and a strong mind, everything will last forever.

Leave a Reply

