Movie Experience: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

katniss-featured-in-new-poster-for-the-hunger-games-mockingjay-part-1

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1, 2014

One word, DISAPPOINTING. Well yeah, I’m not a “Hunger Games Fan” but hey, I came to see the film to be entertained and I expected a lot. Coming from the first two films that gave me a roller coaster of emotions, I was really expecting for this film to level up. The trailer was exciting, but when I saw the actual film, it gave me two of the most boring hours of my life. There were notable scenes, but they were very few. The song that Katniss sang is the only thing that struck me, but most parts of the film was unnecessary, I felt they just made this film just for the sake of having a so-called “Part 1”. Basically, the film ruined the essence of entertainment and art, they shouldn’t have risked on doing this. Jennifer Lawrence performed very well, but I don’t think this film is necessary, it didn’t give me anything to watch out for.

Film rating: LIMITED

2 thoughts on “Movie Experience: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

  1. I won’t lie to you while you can go without reading the books it helps. The series is told from Katniss’ POV. So you only see the characters from her views. The film was way too focused on her. I expected they would branched out like they did with the first 2 films. Mockingjay is split thanks to Harry Potter and Twilight for starting final books in 2 part film. Here’s scenes in the book that the film didn’t show
    1. During negotiation with the rebels, Katniss declares she kills Snow
    2. Katniss hides in closets and declared mentally disoriented
    3. Haymitch was speaking to Katniss while in district 8
    4. Katniss saw Peeta’s 2nd interview with Finnick not Gale
    5. Coin was more cunning and threaten as Katniss realized more of her true nature after she announce the mockingjay terms to District 13.

    • carlobouh says:

      Yeah I honestly haven’t read the books 🙂 but then again, I’m in love with watching movies, and following the series of the Hunger Games is also an exciting experience. probably I just expected a lot of thrill due to what the previous movies gave me, but then i guess this is the point where it gets serious. I also agree on you on one point, they shouldn’t have split the final installment in two. Artistry should always be better than sales :p

Leave a Reply

