Movie Experience: Exodus: Gods And Kings

exodus_gods_and_kings_ver7

Exodus: Gods And Kings, 2014

I was really excited to watch this film. It made me more interested when I learned from the trailer that the film is about Moses! I thought to myself, “This is gonna be good!”, but then again, I was wrong. The film was the westernized version of a biblical event, it was visually entertaining at first, but it became awkward as the movie progressed. Racism was also present throughout the film, I’m not saying that the makers of the film implied racism but it was just sad to see African-american actors portray slaves and peasants. I also don’t think an American actor would best portray Moses, but nevertheless, he did good. On the other hand, the effects, costumes and the setting were all amazing and surreal! The film is good, but it’s something you can easily forget after a month or two.

Film rating: LIMITED

Leave a Reply

