The Boracay Diaries: Day 2

img_4637       My first day in Boracay was, somehow, a disaster. But for our second day, I’m hoping that we will get better experiences and activities, really beach related, not some free buffet or whatever. We came here to enjoy the beach, not to make business. But it’s our fault anyway haha. We have the whole day and I really expect for everything to get better.

       I woke up early for our second day, around 7am. I heard my mom and my aunts makingimg_4650 noises. They’re preparing. Mom said we have joined a beach activity, ISLAND HOPPING. And by the sound of it, it seems fun. Last time we did island hopping was when we were in corregidor, and it was definitely out of this world, unforgettable. So I was expecting the same thing for this. I hurriedly fixed myself to make it on time. We had breakfast, THE FOOD WAS SO GOOD! I’m not sure if I was just hungry though ;). My mom told me we will be swimming in all the islands we’ll be going to so she said I’d better have my swimming attire ready, something we didn’t do in Corregidor. When it was time to go, we had to meet the boat guy and my mom was originally offered P450 per person, she was furious that she had to pay P600+ per person. It wasn’t the price she was told so she wanted to back out. Here we go again, another mishap. But the guy was insisting and said we can just get it by P500. My mom agreed as we were already there, and it is better than the original price. So at last, it was a go for us.

img_4675       During the boat ride, we were very much crowded, different that what we had in Corregidor. Sorry, I can’t help but compare. So far I’m not happy with the service. I realized that you can rent a private boat and do the island hopping privately, but it’s much more expensive of course. So we arrived at our first destination, Puka Beach, not even sure if I spelled that right. We had a tour guide but she was of no use, there was no tour guiding happening. When we went down the beach, IT WAS REALLY BEAUTIFUL, peaceful and simple. It was the Boracay I had in mind. I though what I see in movies and in TV are all lies, but the image of Boracay they instilled in my mind was real. The guide said we only had 1 hour and we had to get back to the boar. So we hurriedly ran and enjoyed the view. The sand was clean, the beach was so clear and the scenery was spectacular, something that the main island can’t offer. My mom and my aunt took the opportunity and asked me to take some pictures, so we did. It took so long and when they were happy, I just wanted to swim. I was deeply enjoying my swim, when my mom told me that we needed to get back to the boat. It wasn’t even 5 minutes yet when I was swimming, bummer. It was bad that we had to go early, I wasn’t able to maximize my stay there, time was too short unfortunately.

       Our next destination was snorkeling. I was excited, it was my first time. I was tellingimg_4746 myself, maybe this will cover all the disappointments I had including the short time we had in Puka Beach. They stopped in the middle of the sea, and gave us some basic snorkeling gear. I wondered how many mouths have been used for this gears they’re giving out? Haha. It was hard to snorkel at first, but once you get the hang of it, it’s a great experience. THE SCENE UNDERWATER IS BEAUTIFUL! I’m so amazed with how beautiful the fishes look, and the corals, this moment is just so majestic. I even put my phone in a water proof case just to take a quick video under the sea (no pun intended). After snorkeling, we were given lunch buffet as part of the package. We went to another island for the food. As usual, THE FOOD WAS GREAT! I don’t get how food in Boracay can be so much better than what we have in Manila. After eating, we were supposed to be transferred by the boats to Crystal Cove, but another bump on the road, the boat was delayed. They said they failed to call for us because they didn’t see us. What an excuse, totally a cherry on top a cake -_-.

img_1618       When it was our turn for the boat ride, it was extremely tiring. I’m getting all exhausted with these boat rides and travelling. I think we’re consuming so much time, I was hopeful that Crystal Cove would give me the satisfaction I’m looking for. So the “helpful” guide mentioned that this last island has 2 coves, and we can swim. We can go there for p200 for one hour. And as usual, we have to be back in the boat after that time. I was hurrying my mom so we can start. Crystal Cove is a big island. I was excited to see what it can bring us. So we had to walk and follow the trail to the first cove. Upon arriving, the view was so overwhelming, it was so beautiful, worthy of a panorama shot. Hehe. We hurriedly went down the cove so we can swim. There was nothing much to do but swim, if you have your own snorkeling gear, you can watch the fishes below. After this we went up and hurriedly went to the next cove, we have 30 minutes left and I’m not enjoying it. I didn’t know the second cove was far, we were walking under the heat of the sun, and I was really exhausted, plus the fact of time pressure which wasn’t necessary. When we arrived in the second cove, there was nothing there, it was just plain similar with cove 1. Had we known, we should’ve never left there. Or maybe, we shouldn’t have entered Crystal Cove in the first place. It was a waste of time.

       We’re on our last boat ride, back to the shores of the main island. I was boredimg_4979, exhausted, tired, I just wanted to sleep. We were terribly delayed, I don’t know what happened, and I didn’t wanna know why, I’m just really tired, I then fell asleep. Moments later, my mom asked me if I wanted to do parasailing. I SAID A BIG YES! Of course, it might take away all of my disappointments this day. So when we came to the shore, my mom arranged the deal with a guy, the we were on a speedboat going to the floating station for parasailing. Then, we were transferred to another speedboat carrying the parachute. We were with another batch, they were the first to go. When they were floating, the men in the speedboat noticed the skies and pulled the first batch back to the boat. They said it was gonna rain and we had to go back to the floating station. WOW. So my only hope for enjoyment was gone in just a snap. And it did rain, very very hard. My mom was freezing cold. It was fun, but of course I was really disappointed. After a while, the rain stopped, I saw this double rainbow. And this gave me hope that my parasailing dream would come to life again. And yes, we were invited back to the speedboat, and moments later, the parasailing gear were attached to us. And before we know it, we’re already flying!

img_1689       It was the best thing! I felt I have wings, I can see the whole panoramic view of Boracay’s breach front. The boats were small, as if they were toys, and wind was blowing perfectly. I felt as if the rope was gonna break, and if it was, I’m gonna be okay with it so I can fly all across the island. But before getting to the climax, we were already pulled back down to the speed boat. We didn’t spend 15 minutes, the supposed time frame. The guys helping us said it was gonna rain again and we had to go back to the shore. I was happy that we did parasailing, but disappointing as we didn’t get the actual value of the activity we paid for. Why do they have to cut all the excitement of this day. 😦 When we were back to our hotel, I asked my mom if we can swim the beach even if it was raining. She said yes and that’s when I got excited again. We hurriedly went to the beach for swimming and enjoyed the rain. We felt as if we were young again, it was the fun that we were looking for the whole day. This simple swim was what we’re looking for, it was all we wanted. It should’ve been what Boracay focused on instead of offering us all things. In the end, it was a fun and unforgettable afternoon swim. My mom said we will do it again tomorrow morning. This time, I’ll make sure that I’ll make the most of the remaining time I have with Boracay!

       We ended our day with a wonderful dinner, THE FOOD WAS VERY img_5069DELIGHTFUL! Boracay never disappointed me in this category. We ordered a lot, from soups to pizzas, it was all moth-watering. Every bite was delectable, and every scoop is worth it! Plus the factor that I’m with amazing people, it was a perfect dinner I must say. After eating, we all rested for a while, viewed pictures we had the whole day and decided then to sleep. It was a better day compared than the first one, but it was still not the enjoyment I was looking for, still disappointed in some aspects.

       For our final day I hope that we get to enjoy the whole day without holding back and without disappointments. This time I’ll make sure that we’ll just swim the whole day and won’t let other activities hinder us from having fun. The other stuff that Boracay offers are fun, an icing on top of the cake, but they aren’t necessary. It will be more fun just to enjoy the main offer of Boracay, to enjoy their beaches and just have a relaxing time. That, my friend, is my goal for my last day here and I am very much looking forward to it. A better tomorrow as they say. 😉

Leave a Reply

