I Understand

20160425_101336406_ios

It was definitely love at first sight,
When I met you.
I was addicted to you, I pursued.
But you said you weren’t ready for a commitment, you told me to wait.
You didn’t want to be in a relationship, yet
I said, “It’s okay, I understand”.

I courted you, I waited patiently.
I started to get to know you,
Your secrets, your mannerisms, your favorite things to do and the things you hated the most.
You introduced me to your friends, and I introduced you to mine, still you weren’t ready.
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

I was becoming impatient, then I felt you didn’t care.
You were having a good time with friends, and I was alone.
But then you rescued me, even though it was too late.
I was lost, but then you said you love me.
You thought you were gonna lose me and apologized for taking too long.
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

We had an almost perfect relationship.
I gave everything you desired, I saw you were happy.
I wanted to serve you and give you my whole life,
But you said you can’t return how much I’m giving.
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

There were times I requested things, I wanted gifts.
I wanted you to make me feel special, feel loved.
But you were too preoccupied, focused on things you enjoyed the most
You said you can’t, maybe next time. I just nodded.
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

We both became busy, you had to work and I had to, as well.
You started hanging out with your new friends, and so did I.
I still managed to make time for you, but you always went home exhausted.
You said we can go out some other time, when you weren’t tired. I smiled,
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

I set aside my family, you became my world.
I wanted you to feel important, prioritized.
I wanted you to feel that I gave everything you wanted.
I guess you never saw, you were too busy to notice, but
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

Time passed by and we were growing up.
You were busy building your dreams.
I tried to do everything for you to notice me.
But you told me you have priorities, I was hurt, yet
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

Our love was getting sour.
I started to do annoying things for you to notice me,
It’s as if you forgot I existed.
You almost left me, but I fought for it, I didn’t give up.
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

You were getting colder, but I was trying harder.
You were silent, but you were smiling.
You were busy, but still with me.
I felt you wanted to go, but you stayed, I just sighed.
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

Then my nightmare has happened.
You decided to live abroad and leave me.
But you said our hearts will never be apart.
I believed you, I had faith in you.
You said you wanted to pursue your dreams overseas, it was your goal.
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

After several months, you became worse.
Colder than I imagined, and I was grumpier than ever.
Your calls turned from days to weeks,
And I was feeling neglected, you said you were just busy, I cried, but
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

I guess you already had enough, and left me.
You said you dated someone else before you went abroad.
I was broken, you blamed me for everything bad that happened.
You said you don’t love me no more, I felt I was dying, but
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

Was I never enough? Have I not done everything for you?
It’s as if I never did anything good,
And you just focused on the bad things that had happened.
You said I am to blame for what had happened, but despite this,
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

You proved people how evil I was.
You showed them I did nothing but bad things to you.
You left me broken, left me in pieces.
But you were never in pain, you’re already happy with someone else, it breaks me but
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

I gave you everything, my whole life.
I followed you, your dreams and your desires.
I guess you wanted something else, someone else.
I should’ve known, you should’ve told me.
I was taken for granted, you fooled me, you lied but
I said, “It’s okay, I understand”.

Now I’m starting over again,
Rebuilding a life I used to have with you.
Trying to forget the memories I had with you everyday.
My brain is reminiscing, trying to remember, but my heart wants to forget.
My heart said you were never worth it, you never loved me, still
I said, “It’s okay, I understand.”

Leave a Reply

